Protected Characteristics

There are 9 protected characteristics under the Equality Act 2010 and all schools should be able to demonstrate that no form of discrimination is tolerated and that pupils show respect for those who share the protected characteristics.
The 9 Protected Characteristics are:
- Age
- Religion or Belief (also referred to as Belief and Non-Belief)
- Disability
- Gender reassignment
- Marriage and Civil Partnership
- Pregnancy and Maternity
- Race
- Sex (Gender)
- Sexual orientation
At Windmill Hill Academy, rather than teaching all the protected characteristics in every year group, we ensure that our children are given opportunities to develop age-appropriate knowledge and understanding through a well-planned and delivered curriculum.
See below for examples on where the protected characteristics feature within the curriculum.